Academy of Arts University / Sp 2012/ Fsh 638/ mod 9.2 (Kohl’s Department Stores New Changes)

29 Mar

To be quite honest I have never been a big fan of Kohl’s department stores.  But, the other day I was driving by a Kohl’s location that recently open in my area about a year or two ago.  I had time to kill and thou that maybe I could get some ideas for our up and coming project in the store.  While walking around I Kohl’s I notice that all the sales signs are no longer paper, they have a mixture of paper signage and new computerized signs on top of the clothing fixtures.   While shopping in the store I noticed that the lights were not as bright as a normal department store.  But, they have an announcement that comes over the overhead speakers stating that the store receives its electricity from solar powered panels from the roof of the building. 

My recent visit to Kohl’s had me wanting to know more about what is currently going on with Kohl’s department stores.  So I researched and found and article on WWD that gave me a better incite.  To the new changes that are going on in Kohl’s stores.

According to the article Kohl’s is has currently open eight in seven states that have the following:  “Updated checkout stations, newly designed shopping carts, reinvented beauty departments, fitting-room lounges, expanded customer service areas relocated to the front of the store, in-store kiosks and electronic signs for all departments.” Along with these eight stores that have been remodeling 50 current stores.  Which the store I visited must have been one of the 50 stores, it was very inviting and much easier to understand the signage.  I asked one of the employees how they liked the new store set up.  She stated that she likes that fact that she does not have to update the signage for anymore.  There are no more signs left behind with the wrong pricing on them anymore.  So they are not giving the customers discounts, because the old sales signs where left up by accident.

The whole store was very modern compare to my last visit in that location. Even the fashion choices have improved since I last shopped in Kohl’s which a plus is.  The only thing I think they should improve on is making the light brighter.  If I was a designer I would want my clothing to sell in Kohl’s.  Kohl’s seems to be keeping up with current trends not only with fashion but also with store set-up. 

http://0-www.wwd.com.library.academyart.edu/retail-news/mass-off-price/kohls-opens-new-format-stores-5788626

 

Leave a Reply

